Wow! Wow! Wow!

The ice festival in Harbin took my breath away, and it was more than the cold! I had not fully appreciated the size of the sculptures. There were two parks and the following pics are from the larger of the two.There was a copy of the Colloseum in Rome, the Gate of Heavenly Peace in Beijing and St Paul’s Cathedral in Macau. These were the ones John recognised. It was on an enormous scale with lots of colour changing lights.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

There was an enormous twin track ice slide which had plenty takers. We were cold enough without trying it.

Image

 

There were smaller, more intricate sculptures which formed part of a competition.

Image

Image

 

It was very very cold. There was no wind the night we were there and it was still -32c. I was beginning to get a bit cold but Mr Rohan really kept my body warm and together with Mrs Bearpaws they kept my feet cosy. Even John wore a hat and 2 pairs of gloves! I took very little video because I could not keep my thick gloves off for long. I had bought John a really good pair of liners which allowed him to use his camera, albeit with a tad of difficulty. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Wow! Wow! Wow!

Leave a Reply

